The Queen's Cup Scramble: New Teams, New Lineups

Darlene Ricker | 05/23/17

You’re going to need a crib sheet to keep track of who’s playing for whom in the 2017 Cartier Queen’s Cup, which opens today. Not only have three new teams entered (Monterosso, Sommelier and Murus Sanctus), but several top players are wearing different color jerseys than they did last year. Most notable amidst the shifting sands is Adolfo Cambiaso, now playing for RH Polo after 16 years with Dubai, who will not return to defend their 2016 Queen’s Cup victory. Also skipping the tournament this year are 2016 teams Zacara, Apes Hill and Valiente/Dubai.

In an interesting move on the chessboard, Julian de Lusarreta (2016 MVP) and Luke Tomlinson swap sides. De Lusarreta goes from La Indiana to Sifani, and Tomlinson departs Sifani for La Indiana. La Indiana—last year’s presumed underdog who walloped the frontrunners and made it all the way to the finals of both the Queen’s Cup and the Gold Cup—has kept core players Nic Roldan and Agustín Merlos.

Also of note: Queen’s Cup newcomer Murus Sanctus, who played in the 2016 Gold Cup with a different lineup, has beefed up their chances by adding Hilario Ulloa to their roster.

So far we know that two of the 10 teams in this year’s tournament are returning with the same rosters: El Remanso (Charlie Hanbury, Ollie Cudmore, James Beim and James Harper), and La Bamba de Areco (Jean-Francois Decaux, Diego Cavanagh, Christian Laprida and Rodrigo Rueda). The 2015 winner, King Power Foxes, are sticking with their tried-and-true combo of Top Srivaddhanaprabha and a double dose of Pieres (Gonzalito and Facundo) but have kept their fourth player as yet undisclosed. It won’t remain a secret for long, however, as King Power are playing today in the tournament opener.

Complete team rosters: http://www.guardspoloclub.com/tournaments/cartier-queens-cup-2017#teams