Robert Sapam-The Telegraph India | 11/21/17

Four international polo teams have confirmed their participation in the 11th Manipur Polo International Meet 2017, organised by the Manipur Horse Riding & Polo Association. The event is held as part of the Sangai Festival, that will kick off on November 22.

Among the four international teams, Argentina and Morocco will be making their debut at the meet while the US and England have already participated in the earlier edition. India will also be fielding two teams, India-A and India-B, where the latter will have riders from Manipur.

Addressing the media at Mapal Kangjeibung, H. Deleep Singh, working chairman of the Manipur Polo International, said they are very fortunate this time that Argentina, one of the top teams in polo, would be participating in the meet.

He added that the invitational Manipur Polo International has become one of the most important major calendar events among the polo-playing nations throughout the world and it also spreads awareness on preserving Manipur ponies.

He said the tournament would be historic as George Dill, chairman of both the United States Polo Association International Committee and the American International Polo Foundation, will be visiting the state during the tournament and remain here throughout the event.

The India-A team will have Maj. Narendra Singh, Ram Singh, Col. Tarsem Singh and Vijay Singh. The India-B squad will be announced on Friday after the completion of the ongoing N. Hazari and N. Tombi Polo Tournament.

All the international teams arrived on Monday.